What does the Deutsches SOFIA Institut (DSI) do?

The Deutsches SOFIA Institut (German SOFIA Institute, DSI) at the Institute of Space Systems (IRS) coordinates the operation of the infrared observatory SOFIA (Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy). Especially interesting objects for SOFIA's observations are galaxies, star forming regions, the interstellar medium, our solar system, planets and comets.

DSI is led by Professor Alfred Krabbe. You can find more information about the research being done under his professorship in Airborne Astronomy and Extraterrestrial Space Flight Missions on the IRS research pages.

IRS Research Page

The Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy is a joint project of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). The Deutsches SOFIA Institut (DSI) at the University of Stuttgart coordinates the scientific operations on the German side. The American scientific operations are planned by the NASA Ames Research Center (ARC) and the Universities Space Research Association (USRA). Flight tests and flight operations are led by the NASA Armstrong Flight Research Center (AFRC) to the north of Los Angeles. The NASA Ames Research Center (ARC) to the south of San Francisco conducts the scientific research flights. To facilitate smooth telescope operations, the majority of DSI employees are continuously posted on site in California. 

Contact

Alfred Krabbe
Prof. Dr. rer. nat.

Alfred Krabbe

Professor of Airborne Astronomy and Extraterrestrial Space Missions, Head of the Deutsches SOFIA Institut

Thomas Keilig
Dr.-Ing.

Thomas Keilig

DSI Managing Director

Barbara Klett
 

Barbara Klett

DSI Assistant to Senior Management

To the top of the page

Was macht das Deutsche SOFIA Institut (DSI)?

Das Deutsche SOFIA Institut am Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme koordiniert den Betrieb des Infrarotobservatoriums SOFIA (Stratosphären Observatorium Für Infrarot-Astronomie). Besonders interessante Beobachtungsobjekte für SOFIA sind Galaxien, Sternentstehungsgebiete, interstellare Materie, unser Sonnensystem, Planeten und Kometen.

Das DSI steht unter der Leitung von Professor Alfred Krabbe. Mehr Informationen über die Forschung unter der Professur Flugzeugastronomie und extraterrestrische Raumfahrtmissionen finden Sie auf den Forschungsseiten des IRS.

IRS Forschungsseite

SOFIA ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) und der National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). Das Deutsche SOFIA Institut (DSI) der Universität Stuttgart koordiniert den wissenschaftliche Betrieb auf deutscher Seite. Auf amerikanischer Seite wird er von dem NASA Ames Research Center (ARC) und der Universities Space Research Association (USRA) durchgeführt. Die Flugtests und der Flugbetrieb werden unter Federführung des NASA Armstrong Flight Research Center (AFRC) nördlich von Los Angeles durchgeführt. Das NASA Ames Research Center (ARC) südlich von San Francisco führt die astronomischen Beobachtungsflüge durch.

Kontakt

Alfred Krabbe
Prof. Dr. rer. nat.

Alfred Krabbe

Professor für Flugzeugastronomie und extraterrestrische Raumfahrtmissionen, Leitung des Deutschen SOFIA Instituts

Thomas Keilig
Dr.-Ing.

Thomas Keilig

DSI Geschäftsleitung

Barbara Klett
 

Barbara Klett

DSI Assistenz der Geschäftsleitung

Zum Seitenanfang